Connecting you with Alaska athletes.


Clair DeGeorge, Rosie Brennan, Sydnee Kimber finalists for women’s Pride of Alaska Award

by | Apr 4, 2022 | Alaska Sports Hall of Fame, Hockey, Nordic Skiing, Wrestling


For Consistent Excellence in Athletic Competition – For an athlete or athletes, team or coach who not only excelled in sports in the past year or recent years, but did so with integrity and sportsmanship so as to be a positive role model for others.

Clair DeGeorge, Ohio State hockey player
DeGeorge, of Anchorage, helped Ohio State win the NCAA D1 women’s national championship by scoring a goal and assisting on another in Buckeyes’ 3-2 win over Minnesota-Duluth. She finished her college career No. 3 among Alaska’s all-time women’s scorers delivering 125 points (on 44 goals and 81 assists) in 166 games.


Rosie Brennan

Rosie Brennan, Olympic skier
Brennan, representing Alaska Pacific University, was in contention for medals at the Beijing Olympics, placing fourth in the freestyle sprint, sixth in the 30K freestyle, fifth in the team sprint and sixth in the women’s relay. Brennan achieved her career-best results after being dropped twice from the US Ski Team and having a disappointing 2018 Olympics. Only two American women, Kikkan Randall and Jessie Diggins, have won Olympic Nordic skiing medals and Brennan nearly became the third.


Sydnee Kimber

Sydnee Kimber, collegiate wrestler
Kimber, of Sitka, earned her third straight collegiate women’s wrestling national championship for McKendree University with another dominating performance. She won all four matches at the championships without giving up a point in the 191-pound division. Kimber finished her career with a 75-4 record and a 45-game winning streak that included two straight undefeated seasons.

Finalists were selected by the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame Board of Directors.

Also receiving votes: Anna Dalton, Alev Kelter, Kendall Kramer, Hannah Lefleur, Vicky Persinger, Eve Stephens, Tennae Voliva
Previous winners (most recent first): Rosie Brennan, Ruthy Hebard, Caroline Kurgat, Kikkan Randall and Roxie Wright (co-winners), Morgan Hooe, UAA Women’s BB Team and Allie Ostrander (co-winners), Allie Ostrander, Kikkan Randall, Nunaka Girls Softball Team, UAA Women’s Basketball Team

The Directors’ Awards winners will be announced from the lists of finalists in each category on the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame Facebook Live page at 3pm AK Time on Wednesday, April 6th.

Story made possible by:

Black-Smith, Bethard & Carlson

Family of Sponsors

Advanced Diagnostics, INC | Alaska Airlines | Alaska Oil and Gas Association | Alliance for Support of American Legion Baseball in Alaska | Joe Alston | Arctic Slope Regional Corporation | Aspen Endodontics | Glen Bailey | Kathie Bethard | Black-Smith, Bethard & Carlson, LLC. | BOSCO's | Don Clary & Judy Besh | Zareena and Allen Clendaniel | Continental Auto Group | Joey Caterinichio & Ja Dorris | The Conway Family | Donley Family | Jim & Michelle Hajdukovich | Foley & Pearson | JL Properties | Mark and Jamie Johnson | Kristopher Knauss | Loren Kroon | Dr. Justin Libby, DDS | Jason & Shannon Metrokin | Amy and Jason Miller | Multisport Training of Alaska/Lisa Keller | Rick Mystrom | Kathleen Navarre | Seth Wickersham & Alison Overholt | Dave and DeAnne Rand | R&M Consultants, Inc. | RE/MAX Dynamic Properties Kevin Taylor | Replacement Glass | Residential Mortgage | RSA Engineering- Sarah & A.J. Schirack | Tony and Carla Slaton Barker | Sportclips Haircuts | Alice & Gunnar Knapp | Peter Pounds | Dan Rufner | Harlow Robinson | Pete Robinson | Moria Smith | Taylored Restoration | In memory of Drs. John & Elizabeth Tower | Team Heat | Todd Whited | UAA Seawolves | Don Winchester

Family of Sponsors

Alaska Airlines | Nicole Johnston | Richard Mize | Advanced Diagnostics, INC | Aktive Soles | Alaska Oil and Gas Association | Aspen Endodontics | Black-Smith, Bethard & Carlson, LLC. | BOSCO's | Coho Financial Group | Continental Auto Group | Don Clary & Judy Besh | Glen Bailey | Invisalign-Ben Ward | JL Properties | Joey Caterinichio & Ja Dorris| Kathleen Navarre | Midas Alaska | Moose's Tooth, Bear Tooth and Broken Tooth Brewing | Perkins Coie - Sarah & A.J. Schirack | R&M Consultants, Inc. | RE/MAX Dynamic Properties Kevin Taylor | Residential Mortgage | Seth Wickersham & Alison Overholt | Taylored Restoration | Korndrop Family Foundation | Arctic Slope Regional Corporation | Replacement Glass | Zareena and Allen Clendaniel | Foley & Pearson | UAA Seawolves | Tony and Carla Slaton Barker | Sportclips Haircuts | Alliance for Support of American Legion Baseball in Alaska | Alice & Gunnar Knapp | Amy and Jason Miller | Burgerfi | Charles Fedullo | Dan Rufner | Darren Lieb | Don Winchester | Donley Family | Dr. Justin Libby, DDS | Firetap | Harlow Robinson | Jason & Shannon Metrokin | Jim & Michelle Hajdukovich | Joe Alston | Kathie Bethard | Krispy Kreme | Kristopher Knauss | Loren Kroon | Mark and Jamie Johnson | Mark Silverman | On the Border | Pete Robinson | Rick Mystrom | Team Heat | Team Moriarty | The Conway Family | Todd Whited | Moria Smith | In memory of Drs. John & Elizabeth Tower | Peter Pounds | Multisport Training of Alaska/Lisa Keller | RSA Engineering

Sports Categories