For Consistent Excellence in Athletic Competition – For an athlete or athletes, team or coach who not only excelled in sports in the past year or recent years, but did so with integrity and sportsmanship so as to be a positive role model for others.

Scott Patterson, Olympic skier, Crow Pass record setter
Patterson, of Anchorage, recorded the best men’s Nordic skiing result at the Olympics since 1976 with an eighth place in the 50-kilometer freestyle. That came despite a broken wrist that hampered his training and almost cost him a spot at the Olympics. Patterson also won the Crow Pass for a 7th time in 2021 and shattered the record with a run of 2 hours, 50 minutes.

Jeremy Swayman, NHL goalie
Swayman, of Anchorage, has the second-best goals against average in the National Hockey League as of March 25. The netminder for the Boston Bruins boasts a record of 19-8-3 with a GAA per game of 2.09 and a saves percentage of .925. Swayman was named the NHL Rookie of the Month for February after going 5-1-1, with two shutout, a GAA  of 1.13 and a saves percentage of .960.

Marko Cheseto, double-amputee runner
Cheseto, formerly of the University of Alaska Anchorage, set two world records for double amputee runners. In February 2022, he ran the Gasparillo Half Marathon in 1 hour, 16 minutes and 58 seconds. Cheseto, now of Groveland, Fla., also set a new benchmark by running 2:35:55 at the 2021 New York City Marathon just 28 days after also winning the Boston Marathon for his division.

Finalists were selected by the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame Board of Directors.

Also receiving votes: Lars Arneson, Josh Cummings, Brody Jessee, Keegan Messing, Daishen Nix, Brent Sass, Hunter Strand, Isaac Updike,
Previous winners (most recent first): Dallas Seavey, Gus Schumacher, Keegan Messing, Andrew Kurka, David Norris, Dallas Seavey and Soldotna HS Football Team (co-winners), Erik Flora, Trevor Dunbar and Eric Strabel (co-winners), Mario Chalmers, Alaska Aces

The Directors’ Awards winners will be announced from the lists of finalists in each category on the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame Facebook Live page at 3pm AK Time on Wednesday, April 6th.

Additional Article Sponsors:
Alaska Oil and Gas Association | Team Moriarty | Kathie Bethard | Todd Whited | Team Heat | Arctic Slope Regional Corporation | Invisalign-Ben Ward | Allen Clendaniel | Mark Silverman | Dan Rufner | Rick Mystrom | In Memory of Drs. John & Elizabeth Tower | Korndrop Family Foundation | The Conway Family | Don Clary and Judy Besh | Jim Hajdukovich | Kathleen Navarre | Moose's Tooth, Bear Tooth and Broken Tooth Brewing | R&M Consultants, Inc.| BOSCO's | Residential Mortgage | Taylored Restoration | JL Properties | RE/MAX Dynamic Properties Kevin Taylor | Joe Alston